December 18, 2017

We are the DFL in Southern Dakota County

Some of DFL58's delegates to the 2018 DFL convention in Rochester, MN.

Some of DFL58’s delegates to the 2018 DFL convention in Rochester, MN.

Connect with other Democrats, DFLers and Progressives in the area.

DFL Senate District 58 is a volunteer led organization composed of officials elected by their peers at the caucus and bi-annual senate district convention.

Volunteers are the lifeblood of the organization. Volunteers are always welcome, and opportunities abound. Current volunteer opportunities:

  • 3 hour shift to staff the DFL booth at the Dakota County Fair in August
  • Volunteer to help with our fundraisers
  • Host a yard sign for the 2018 elections
  • Host a House Party or Picnic to raise funds for candidates or to recruit volunteers
  • Volunteer to help with district communications & publicity
  • Help distribute candidate and district literature in your neighborhood
  • More…

If you would like to volunteer, or have ideas to contribute, attend our next scheduled meeting or email us. Everything you do will be greatly appreciated.

Email for Volunteer Opportunites

If you cannot donate your time, please consider making a small donation to Senate District 58 to help us manage day-to-day operations, expenses for meetings, caucuses and conventions, publicity, and so that we can support or local candidates in the best possible manner. Large contributions are wonderful, but even five or ten dollars helps us meet our goals.

Follow SD58 on Facebook page or Join the SD58 Group on Facebook!

2018-2020 officers and directors


ChairElise Smith-Dewey
Vice ChairJeff Williams
Outreach & InclusionCathy Peregrino
SecretaryKrista Shaw
TreasurerHelene Haapala
Communications OfficerChuck Smith-Dewey
DirectorMary Ann Arneson
DirectorSarah Breuer
DirectorDave Wilcox
DirectorTerry Ferriss
DirectorGaetano Marchese
DirectorMichael Meyer
DirectorCharles Nieber
DirectorKaren Parker
DirectorRichard Wicklund
DirectorMaggie Williams
SCC DelegateHelene Haapala
SCC DelegateGreg Hansen
SCC DelegateCharles Thomas
SCC AlternateSteve Quist
SCC Alternateopen
SCC AlternateKrista Shaw
SCC AlternateDave Wilcox
SCC Alternateopen